September 9, 2022 | Austin, Texas | Press release

Governor Greg Abbott today honored peacekeepers, firefighters and first responders who have demonstrated heroism and selflessness in service to their communities and the Lone Star State at the 2022 Star of Texas Awards Ceremony in Austin. The Governor, along with First Lady Cecilia Abbott, presented the Texas Stars honorees with awards.

“The outstanding men and women receiving the Lone Star of Texas today represent the best of Texas, and this award is a token of our appreciation for their tremendous service to the Lone Star State,” said Governor Abbott. “It is a great honor for me to recognize the 36 people in this room today who have sacrificed so much and acted selflessly for others. I want to thank them on behalf of the entire state of Texas for the risks they have taken and continue to take to protect Texans across our state every day. Our law enforcement officers, first responders and their families will always have the support of their governor and the state of Texas.”

The Star of Texas Award was established in 2003 by House Bill 1937 to honor and commemorate individuals who have made profound commitments in the line of duty as peacekeepers, firefighters and EMS operators. HB 1937 also declared September 11 of each year as Emergency Response Day in Texas. Today’s ceremony honored and recognized 36 Texans for outstanding courage and tremendous sacrifice in the line of duty, including some who gave their lives.

The 2022 Texas Star Award winners are:

Creighton Paschal, Arlington Police Department

John F. Riordan, Austin Police Department

Lewis Andrew Traylor, Austin Police Department

Charles Edward Patterson, Bowie Volunteer Fire Department

Timothy Pierce, Burnett Fire Department

Manuel Dominguez, Corpus Christi Police Department

Christopher Gadomski, Dallas Fire Rescue Department

Ronald Hall, Dallas Fire and Rescue Department

Pauline Angelique Perez, Dallas Fire and Rescue

Juan Barron, Dallas Police Department

Barbara Ann Fenley, Eastland County Sheriff’s Office

Armando Lopez, El Paso Fire Department

Adam Matthew Earls, Fannin County Sheriff’s Office

Keith Laughlin, Georgetown Police Department

Ashley Wall, Georgetown Police Department

Ross Duncan Kuhns, Harris County Precinct 1

Kareem Anthony Atkins, Harris County Precinct 4

Jucaim Sheldin Barten, Harris County Precinct 4

Darryl Wayne Garrett, Harris County Precinct 4

Chris Hendricks, Harris County Precinct 4

Darren Almendarez, Harris County Sheriff’s Office

Samuel Cleveland, Houston Police Department

Chase Elliott Cormier, Houston Police Department

William J. Jeffrey, Houston Police Department

Harold Lloyd Preston, Houston Police Department

Sean Sebastian Rios, Houston Police Department

Jarryd Sully, Houston Police Department

Michael Wiley Vance, Houston Police Department

Courtney T. Waller, Houston Police Department

Sherman Otto Bennis Jr., Kingsville Police Department

Richard Lee Houston II, Mesquite Police Department

Alejandro Munoz, Odessa Police Department

Jayden Maisie Bender, San Antonio Police Department

Ralph P. Delgado, Jr., San Antonio Police Department

Seth D. Hudson, Texas A&M Forest Service Enforcement Division

Michael Cardenas, Val Verde County Sheriff’s Office

Source by [author_name]

Previous articleKing Charles III pledges ‘lifelong service’ in first address, thanks to his ‘lovely mother’
Next articleAmazon plans to cut healthcare jobs after telemedicine shutdown